1942: the year the war came to Australia
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Peter Grose is a former journalist, literary agent and publisher. He has published four highly acclaimed books with Allen & Unwin, An Awkward Truth, A Very Rude Awakening, A Good Place to Hide and Ten Rogues in a Boat. He lives in France.

Reviews

Praise for A Good Place to Hide:

"A beautifully written tribute to their community and an outstanding contribution to Holocaust literature."
- Booklist (starred review) "Peter Grose tells this story well. It reads like a thriller, but it is a well-researched book ... an excellent addition to history collections in all libraries."
- The Jewish Book Council "Peter Grose's tale of the astounding 'rescue village ' of Le Chambon is not what you think it would be: no sentimental yarn of deliverance of all those the Nazi regime had in their sights, but a tale of practically delivered salvage of the hunted. It is a story resonant in our days, the age of refugees, and a grand narrative in its own right, all told with absorbing narrative skill. A book to cherish and recommend!"
- Thomas Keneally, Booker Prize-winning author of Schindler's List "Inspiring. In chronicling the daring activity that went on for years, Grose keeps readers on edge with a heartwarming story of ordinary heroes who just did what was required."
- Kirkus Reviews "Grose tells the inspiring story of courageous villagers, determined church leaders, and persecuted refugees in a journalistic style that many readers will enjoy. The bravery and scale of the housing operations were remarkable. Recommended for general audiences with an interest in World War II history and narrative."
- Library Journal "Combines solid historical research with the tension of a spy novel. In the vein of Schindler's List, A Good Place to Hide is an inspiring account of the extraordinary courage of ordinary people."
- Shelf Awareness

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling 1942: the year the war came to Australia: The bombing of Darwin and the attack on Sydney by the Japanese on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top